Province of Ontario crest
Ontario Parole Board
skip navigation central site feedback search site map français
Location  Navigation bullet  Home
About the Board
How to Contact Us
Institutions Under Board Regions
Observer Attendance at Parole Hearings
Parole Information
Ouick Facts
Quick Statistics
Temporary Absence Program
Victim Participation in the Ontario Parole Process

Welcome to the
Ontario Parole Board

The Ontario Parole Board as part of the Canadian criminal justice system has legislated authority to grant supervised conditional release to adult offenders sentenced to Ontario provincial correctional institutions. The Board, which has representatives from the community, welcomes input from all sources, including victims of crime, in making independent, fair and objective decisions. It pursues its primary goal of protecting the public by releasing only those offenders considered to be a manageable risk.

Victim Support Line

For Information to Victims and Support Call 1-888-579-2888
or (416) 314-2447 (Toronto Area)
Information on Victims and the Ontario Parole Board

Creation of the Third Tribunal Cluster

Safety, Licensing Appeals and Standards Tribunals Ontario (SLASTO)

The clustering of adjudicative tribunals contributes to the government’s broader goal of building a more effective and accessible justice system for all Ontarians. Two tribunal clusters have been created in the past few years-the Environment and Land Tribunals Ontario (ELTO) and the Social Justice Tribunals Ontario (SJTO).

A third cluster has been created, effective April 1, 2013 – the Safety, Licensing Appeals and Standards Tribunals Ontario (SLASTO).

SLASTO consists of the following five adjudicative tribunals:

• Animal Care Review Board,

• Fire Safety Commission,

• Licence Appeal Tribunal,

• Ontario Civilian Police Commission, and

• Ontario Parole Board

The Adjudicative Tribunals Accountability, Governance and Appointments Act, 2009 allows the government to designate two or more adjudicative tribunals as a cluster if the matters that the tribunals deal with are such that they can operate more effectively and efficiently as part of a cluster than alone. As with the first two clusters, SLASTO is part of the Ministry of the Attorney General. An Executive Chair, Ms. Linda Lamoureux, leads the cluster.

The main purpose of clustering is to ensure efficiency, effectiveness and accessibility of services. The clustered tribunals’ operations and dispute resolution benefit from the coordination and sharing of resources, expertise, best practices and administrative and professional support. The tribunals maintain their separate legislated mandates and enhance their adjudicative independence. On the frontline operations, it is business as usual while we work through the transition.

We look forward to the opportunities and benefits that change can bring to services provided by each tribunal, and more broadly, to building as more integrated administrative justice community in Ontario.

Pursuant to the Accessibility for Ontarians with Disabilities Act, 2005, the Safety, Licensing Appeals and Standards Tribunals Ontario (SLASTO) has developed its Multi-Year Accessibility Plan and its Annual Accessibility Status Report. Click here for more information.

top of page main navigation
central site accessibility feedback search site map français
Government of Ontario logo
This site is maintained by the Government of Ontario, Canada.
This link will exit this site and take you to the Government of Ontario disclaimer page.External Links Disclaimer
Copyright information: © Queen's Printer for Ontario, 2015